Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

December 7, 2008

Sometimes being a writer sucks

Filed under: Writing — douglaslperry @ 6:41 am

I used to love going to the movies to watch the latest Sylvester Stallone flick, but now I don’t enjoy them anymore. And it’s because I became a writer. Maybe some of it is a result of maturity, but I don’t think so. What I’ve noticed is that I only like shows whether TV or Movie, that are written well.

 

It’s not that I am drawn to more literary movies, or chic flicks, though I do seem to enjoy movies with more human interaction scenes rather than just blowing stuff up. Don’t get me wrong I still enjoy movies where stuff gets blown up, but it’s just that there better be some story behind it as well.

 

To give an example I really like motorcycle riding and so one would tend to think that I would enjoy a movie like Torque. However I found it the most worthless piece of drivel to ever grace the screen. The characters were completely unbelievable, the story was idiotic, the dialog was ridiculous. That is one area where I know that I am much more sensitive than ever, dialog. If the dialog is bad, the rest of the movie typically cannot make up for it.

 

The problem is that there just are not as many well written movies as there used to be, so becoming a writer has made my movie going experience a lot worse. I find myself looking at my watch when I should be enjoying the movie. The difference is that in the past I would have been into the movie.

 

That being said, I really enjoyed Iron Man. There were some moments of questionable dialog, but overall it delivered, the comic elements with his robots were just awesome.

 

Keep writing

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

