Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

February 4, 2009

ABNA Contest

Filed under: Books — douglaslperry @ 12:29 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I don’t know how many of you know what ABNA stands for, but it’s the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Awards contest. The idea is that Amazon holds a book contest and the winner gets a real live book contract. I entered one of my novels last year and actually made it to the semi-finals. I was hoping to at least make the finals, but honestly, my novel needed some work. 

So here it is one year later, and I’m thinking about entering again. Actually I am hoping I can enter again. I’ve set myself up for a tough challenge, because entries have to be in by Feb 9th, and that only gives me 6 days to rewrite my entire book. 

Yep, I am going to enter a similar novel, but it won’t be the same exact one. I have learned a lot about writing this last year, and will apply it to the one I entered last year, hopefully this year with a different result. 

So what have I changed? Well, the main character’s name, the entire first three chapters and probably a lot more. I plan to turn the tension knob up to 110 throughout the entire book. If you want a quick description, cross military gamers with the real military and add in a bit of 24.

I’ll post up a link to my entry if and when it’s done so that if you want to help, you can. 

Don’t forget to get your copy of my latest book. 

new-cover-2

1 Comment »

  1. That’s exciting! Good luck!

    Comment by mousewords — February 4, 2009 @ 9:32 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

