Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

February 9, 2009

What’s the hardest part about writing for you?

Filed under: Books,Writing — douglaslperry @ 2:06 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Coming up with real and interesting characters is hard. I can come up with characters, but changing them from cardboard cutouts to a living breathing feeling person is what keeps me up at nights. 

It could be that I am over-thinking them. You see for me, I have to know why a person does something. I have to know their motivation or it’s hard for me to write what a character would do. So for me, writing a really bad person is really hard.

I don’t know what motivates a really bad person. I don’t know why they act badly. I cannot understand their thinking. Therefore I have trouble writing what they would do. 

Some bad people are easier than others. Religous zealots for instance, have a single minded purpose that make them easier to predict. People motivated by greed are more difficult because it’s harder to predict how far they will go with their greed. Would they actually kill someone for money?

I’d be curious to hear what you find the most difficult. 

Be sure to pick up a copy of my latest book. 

new-cover-2

1 Comment »

  1. hey there! the book is in my shopping basket at amazon. hubby wants to buy another book, so i’m awaiting his request before I hit the ‘buy’ button so we can save on shipping 🙂 woo hoo! i’m excited!

    Comment by Alex Moore — February 12, 2009 @ 3:32 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

