Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

February 23, 2009

Naming Baby

Filed under: Thoughts,Writing — douglaslperry @ 7:23 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

What did you worry about when naming your child?

I had the name Matthew picked out from before my son was born, I guess because at that time, late 80’s, Bible names were back in vogue. People were naming their children Joshua, Zachary, Matthew, etc. 

Something happened at work that changed my opinion about Matthew. Turns out we worked with a admin assistant who’s name was Matthew. He was so obnoxiously stupid that we couldn’t get over the image of him every time we heard the name. Of course that’s all long forgotten now, and I now have a nephew named Matthew, but at the time, it was a big deal.

I changed the name to Brandon, for reasons that I don’t remember. Probably it was just a common name for the time. 

At that time we didn’t have the same issues with picking a name, that I am hearing about today. The only issue that I had was possible nicknames that might result. With Brandon, I worried that he might get the nickname Brandy, a girls name, and suffer the ridicule that would ensue. So I picked Brennan, because there weren’t many nicknames that could be generated from that. 

Back to name issues. I’m hearing that people today are very methodical about picking their child’s name. Some people make sure the Twitter username is available. Some people make sure the MySpace and Facebook profile names are available. Even more people make sure the .com domain hasn’t been taken. Excuse me? For a child’s name?

In the 22 years that it takes for the child to get out of college and maybe to the work force, do you really think that any of those social networking tools are going to be around? Do you really think the internet will be addressed the same way 22 years from now? 

I don’t. 

As always get my latest book on Amazon by clicking the book cover below.

 

My latest book

My latest book

1 Comment »

  1. Naming Baby « Douglas L Perry, The Author blog…

    Back to name issues. I’m hearing that people today are very methodical about picking their child’s name. Some people make sure the Twitter username is available. Some people make sure the MySpace and Facebook profile names are available ……

    Trackback by MePregnant — February 23, 2009 @ 8:40 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

