Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

June 13, 2009

Scary Rock Incident

Filed under: Stories,Writing — douglaslperry @ 1:27 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’m sitting at work when my cell phone rings. 

“Dad, I’ve just been in an accident and don’t know what to do.”

It was my son. 

After dropping everything and running outside the building so I could get a better signal, I asked him what happened. He was driving to San Diego with a friend, they stopped for gas, and pulled onto the Hwy 5 southbound on ramp to get back on the freeway. They were following an eighteen wheeler going slow up the ramp, when suddenly the truck launched a rock about the size of two softballs into my son’s path. He tried to swerve to miss it, but he didn’t have enough time. It went under the front of the car, impacted the subframe, and launched the car in the air. 

The impact sensors thought the car had been in an accident and blew the airbags. 

 

Both bags blown

Both bags blown

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When airbags blow, it is actually quite a lot of force. Check out my poor son’s face.

 

Smacked in the face by an airbag

Smacked in the face by an airbag

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the case of my son’s car, the design of the passenger side airbag cover is stupid enough, that if the airbag blows, it also frags the windshield. Way to go guys….

 

Windshield fragged from airbag

Windshield fragged from airbag

 

 

So now my son is sitting in the middle of the on ramp, with a blown airbag in his face, glass everywhere, and not quite sure what happened. Luckily he was able to pull off to the side and wait for me to get there. 

I wonder whether or not airbags actually cause more damage than they protect from. I’d sure like to see the statistics.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

