Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

August 6, 2009

Rejection #2

Filed under: Books,Writing — douglaslperry @ 6:03 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Yep, got another one this morning. I could tell that the first one wasn’t a form letter. The actual feedback that I got was pretty much right on, though a little bit ego-busting if I’m being honest.

I couldn’t tell if this was a form rejection or not. I suspect that might have been the point. If I am firmly affixing my tinfoil conspiracy hat, I would say that the agency went out of their way to write a rejection letter that lets you down easy and tries to sound like it’s not a form rejection, but really is.

There’s just enough detail in this one however, that I’m not sure.

I have resolved that I need to do another pass on this book in any event. So even if all the other agents come back with a rejection, I’m OK with that. I will resubmit when I fix some of the issues.

Who knows? I could get lucky with an agent that can see the potential and is willing to have me make the changes.

1 Comment »

  1. Good luck with the resubmits. Many agents get torqued when you send them the story again, saying, “Why didn’t you wait until it was really done before sending?”
    And that’s too bad. It’s sort of a learning thing for us writers, and while we might think something is ready for primetime, we are often wrong. We learn more, but then we get screwed when we don’t know what we don’t know.

    Comment by jasonamyers — August 10, 2009 @ 6:28 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

