Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

August 21, 2009

Dueling Hyperbole

Filed under: Thoughts,Writing — douglaslperry @ 10:29 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

main-hyperboleIs this what our country has finally come to? I mean I’m probably naive, but I can’t think of a time when there has been so much hyperbole thrown around on both sides of recent issues, such as healthcare. Is shock really the only way to get people’s attention anymore?

I’ll admit I’m not a Left Winger, but then again, I’m not a Right Winger. I think both of them take their messages way too far. Does that mean I’m a Libertarian? Nope, same problem.

I feel like I’m stuck in the middle, but if I had to say which way I was leaning, it would probably be slightly to the right. Does that mean I believe everything they say? Far from it.

What’s got me going is the fact that there doesn’t seem to be any candidates in the middle anymore. Each side is trying to push their agenda, and there are not just slight differences in beliefs, they are diametrically opposed. Worse, it seems to be the only way for each side to get their message across is by throwing out inflammatory hyperbole around their issues.

I’m sorry, that’s not helping anyone. All it’s doing is polarizing each side against the other.

And it’s making things worse. When one side gets a small advantage they feel it’s necessary to try to do as much as they can before the tide turns, and a stalemate ensues. Even worse, it seems the stakes for each issue are raised higher and higher.

So what do we do about it? What’s the answer?

I honestly don’t have a clue. The obvious answer would be to elect more middle of the road candidates, but given the current polarized environment, where are they going to come from? What party is going to get behind them?

Both parties are too busy developing hyperbole.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

