Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

October 6, 2009

Loving Books by Greg Iles

Filed under: Books,Thoughts — douglaslperry @ 7:40 pm
Tags: , , , ,

GregIles

It’s my latest kick. I found “Dead Sleep”, I don’t remember how, got the audio book version, and absolutely loved it. It’s been a long time since an author truly made me care about a character, and with “Dead Sleep” he has done it.

His descriptive style is captivating. His dialog is spot on. His characters, as I mentioned already, really tug at the heart.

I’m in the middle of “True Evil” at the moment, and it’s great so far. I again picked up the audio version, and the narrator, is awesome. He makes the evil genius downright creepy.

As a writer I am attuned to small editing mistakes, and I have found a couple of scenes that had issues. For instance in Dead Sleep a guy is shot in the leg, barely able to move, yet a few scenes later, he is running. With some books this is the type of thing that will make me toss the book against the far wall in disgust, but because Greg’s overall writing is so good, I simply say “woops”.

If you like creepy medical based thrillers with a great underlying voice, and interesting characters, you can’t go wrong with Greg’s books. I can’t wait to read the next one.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

