Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

September 3, 2010

Lunchroom Posters

Filed under: Thoughts,Writing — douglaslperry @ 11:16 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I crack up everytime I see one of them in a lunchroom of a company. I mean, who reads those things?

You’ve seen them. They say stuff like “watch where you’re going while traveling up or down staircases”, or “wear appropriate shoes for the type of job you do”, or “There are five classes of fire”.

OK…. the first couple sound pretty much like common sense to me.

And for the third one, I’m not quite sure what good does it do me to know that whether a grease fire is a class K, while a fire in a refrigerator is a class C. If there’s a fire, I’m pretty much grabbing the local fire extinguisher and squeezing the life out of it while pointing it in the general direction.

And if someone is choking in the cubical next to me, do you really think I’m going to take the time to run to the lunchroom to read the notice on how to do the Heimlich maneuver and run back in time to save my neighbor. Either I’ve been trained to do it and can immediately apply it, or I can call 911 and hope for the best. Any other solution is pretty much pointless.

So why are companies required to have these notices in their lunchrooms?

Pretty much to cover their asses if something bad happens to one of their employees.

Company spokesperson: “We’re sorry that Mr Smith choked to death, but we had the proper signage in our lunchroom”

The ideal solution of course would be to have people at the company who are trained to perform the appropriate safety functions, so Mr Smith gets the help he needs right away, but the last thing I would want to see is that “regulated” into being. Companies already have enough anti-business regulations to maintain, they don’t need more.

I’m just saying that the poster basically provides no value other than it allows the HR person to check off a box on a form that the proper signage is located in the proper place. No one reads it, and if an emergency situation happened where someone had to apply a technique from the poster, it’s too late. They don’t have time to figure it out.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

