Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

September 11, 2010

When you’re right, you’re right

Filed under: Thoughts — douglaslperry @ 8:44 pm
Tags: , , , ,

On the upcoming anniversary of one of the most deadly attacks on American soil, this post made me smile and nod my head. Tam always has that effect on me, but today I nodded even harder.

I have no idea why 9 years after the attack, we are just barely seeing signs of life at the site. I went to the NY Trade Center site in July and was amazed at the lack of progress. What I expected to see was a gleaming new building that epitomized the spirit of the American people after such a tragedy. Instead, I saw only the beginnings. You would think that 9 years would be plenty of time, but I guess a few people had to talk about it for a while, or 9 years or so.

1 Comment »

  1. Two Thanksgivings ago my family took an Amtrak sleeper car from Florida to New York City to see the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. The greeting at Penn Station by Security with M16’s did not bother us since both my husband and I were in the Military during the first Gulf War. We took the ususal sight-seeing bus trip by the construction at the WTC and noticed the holes with painted tiles on a fence being the only Memorial. Litigation, Insurance Claims, Grieving Process and possibly still finding human remains may have been some of the hold up…I hope not Greed…

    Comment by Renee Wood — September 17, 2010 @ 3:20 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

