Douglas L Perry, The Author blog

December 17, 2010

Turn your *$%^ phone off

Filed under: Thoughts,Writing — douglaslperry @ 8:38 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Went to Starbucks this morning for coffee and had to stand in line behind an annoying woman talking on her cellphone. Not only was she talking loud enough for everyone in the place to hear, even over the noise of the espresso machines, but it was one of those annoying conversations about nothing.

As she got to the front of the line to order, the cashier had to ask her three times what she wanted because she didn’t have the decency to stop her conversation and listen to what the cashier was saying. After the order she couldn’t figure out the change that she was given, thinking that somehow she got screwed, because she wasn’t listening to the cashier count back the money. After another couple of minutes she finally realized that the change was correct, but still didn’t move out of the way to let the next person, who was me, put in my order. I nearly had to elbow her out of the way to get to the cashier, who’s now waving me forward, and nearly getting upset with me because I’m not putting in my order.

Meanwhile it’s cold outside and the line is now extending out the door.

And she’s still talking about nothing.

And the people behind me are becoming restless.

And the drone in front of me feels like a mosquito buzzing next to my ear.

It took nearly every bit of control for me not to say something to her, or punch the little blue button on her headset, but I knew she wouldn’t have understood what I was saying, and probably called the cops on me or something.

I gave her the stink eye as she finally moved out of the way, but it was as if nothing else in the world around her existed except for the phone call about nothing.

Rude. Just plain rude.

 

1 Comment »

  1. It happens more often now than even a few years ago and seems to be getting worse. I personally hang up on people who are talking to me and appear to be waiting in a line. I always tell them, call me when you set aside time to just talk to me and not to occupy yourself when you’re board or waiting in line.

    Comment by Bev — July 8, 2011 @ 11:59 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

